Superphysics Superphysics
Chapter 8

Planes Of Correspondence

6 minutes  • 1194 words
“As above, so below; as below, so above."—The Kybalion.

The Second Hermetic Principle says that there is a harmony, agreement, and correspondence between the several planes of Manifestation, Life and Being.

The Universe may be divided into 3 great classes of phenomena, as the Three Great Planes with artificial and arbitrary divisions:

  1. The Great Physical Plane.
  2. The Great Mental Plane.
  3. The Great Spiritual Plane.

These are but ascending degrees of the great scale of Life, the lowest point of which is undifferentiated Matter, and the highest point that of Spirit.

The different Planes shade into each other, so that no hard and fast division may be made between the higher phenomena of the Physical and the lower of the Mental; or between the higher of the Mental and the lower of the Physical.

In short, the Three Great Planes may be regarded as three great groups of degrees of Life Manifestation.

While the purposes of this little book do not allow us to enter into an extended discussion of, or explanation of, the subject of these different planes, still we think it well to give a general description of the same at this point.

“Is a Plane a place having dimensions? Or is it merely a condition or state?”

We answer: “No, not a place, nor ordinary dimension of space; and yet more than a state or condition. It may be considered as a state or condition, and yet the state or condition is a degree of dimension, in a scale subject to measurement.” Somewhat paradoxical, is it not? But let us examine the matter.

A “dimension” is “a measure in a straight line, relating to measure,” etc.

The ordinary dimensions of space are length, width, and height.

But there is another dimension of “created things” or “measure in a straight line,” known to occultists, and to scientists as well, although the latter have not as yet applied the term “dimension” to it.

This new dimension, which, by the way, is the much speculated -about “Fourth Dimension,” is the standard used in determining the degrees or “planes.”

This Fourth Dimension may be called “The Dimension of Vibration”.

It is a fact well known to modern science, as well as to the Hermetists who have embodied the truth in their “Third Hermetic Principle,” that “everything is in motion; everything vibrates; nothing is at rest.”

From the highest manifestation, to the lowest, everything and all things Vibrate. Not only do they vibrate at different rates of motion, but as in different directions and in a different manner. The degrees of the rate of vibrations constitute the degrees of measurement on the Scale of Vibrations—in other words the degrees of the Fourth Dimension.

And these degrees form what occultists call “Planes” The higher the degree of rate of vibration, the higher the plane, and the higher the manifestation of Life occupying that plane.

So that while a plane is not “a place,” nor yet “a state or condition,” yet it possesses qualities common to both. We shall have more to say regarding the subject of the scale of Vibrations in our next lessons, in which we shall consider the Hermetic Principle of Vibration.

You will kindly remember, however, that the Three Great Planes are not actual divisions of the phenomena of the Universe, but merely arbitrary terms used by the Hermetists in order to aid in the thought and study of the various degrees and Forms of universal activity and life.

The atom of matter, the unit of force, the mind of man, and the being of the arch -angel are all but degrees in one scale, and all fundamentally the same, the difference between solely a matter of degree, and rate of vibration—all are creations of THE ALL, and have their existence solely within the Infinite Mind of THE ALL.

The Hermetists sub-divide each of the Three Great Planes into Seven Minor Planes, and each of these latter are also sub-divided into seven sub-planes, all divisions being more or less arbitrary, shading into each other, and adopted merely for convenience of scientific study and thought.

The Great Physical Plane, and its Seven Minor Planes, is that division of the phenomena of the Universe which includes all that relates to physics, or material things, forces, and manifestations.

It includes all forms of that which we call Matter, and all forms of that which we call Energy or Force.

The Hermetic Philosophy does not recognize Matter as a thing in itself, or as having a separate existence even in the Mind of THE ALL.

The Teachings are that Matter is but a form of Energy—.that is, Energy at a low rate of vibrations of a certain kind.

Accordingly, the Hermetists classify Matter under the head of Energy, and give to it three of the Seven Minor Planes of the Great Physical Plane.

These 7 Minor Physical Planes are:

  1. The Plane of Matter (A)

This comprises the forms of Matter in its form of solids, liquids, and gases.

  1. The Plane of Matter (B)

This comprises higher and more subtle forms of Matter of which modern science is now recognizing. An example is the phenomena of Radiant Matter, in its phases of radium, etc., belonging to the lower sub-division of this Minor Plane.

  1. The Plane of Matter (C)

This comprises forms of the most subtle and tenuous Matter, the existence of which is not suspected by ordinary scientists.

  1. The Plane of Ethereal Substance

This comprises “The Ether” of science*. It is a substance of extreme tenuity and elasticity, pervading all Universal Space, and acting as a medium for the transmission of waves of energy, such as light, heat, electricity, etc.

*Superphysics Note: The planes of the Kybalion are mixed up and confused.

This Ethereal Substance forms a connecting link between Matter (so-called) and Energy, and partakes of the nature of each. The Hermetic Teachings, however, instruct that this plane has seven sub-divisions (as have all of the Minor Planes), and that in fact there are seven ethers, instead of but one.

  1. The Plane of Energy (A)

Above the Plane of Ethereal Substance comes the Plane of Energy (A), which comprises the ordinary forms of Energy known to science.

Its seven sub-planes are:

  • Heat
  • Light
  • Magnetism
  • Electricity
  • Attraction (including Gravitation, Cohesion, Chemical Affinity, etc.)
  • Several other forms of energy indicated by scientific experiments but not as yet named or classified.
  1. The Plane of Energy (B)

This comprises 7 subplanes of higher forms of energy not as yet discovered by science, but which have been called “Nature’s Finer Forces” and which are called into operation in manifestations of certain forms of mental phenomena, and by which such phenomena becomes possible.

  1. The Plane of Energy (C)

This comprises 7 sub-planes of energy so highly organized that it bears many of the characteristics of “life”. But it is not recognized by the minds of ordinary men. It is available for the use of beings of the Spiritual Plane alone and is considered as “the divine power”*.

*Superphysics Note: In Superphysics, the divine power comes from the nature of the aether.

The beings employing these are as “gods” compared even to the highest known humans.

Any Comments? Post them below!